How to load Neo4Art Graph DB into Gephi

This morning I started working on another my intent: I wanted to see full Van Gogh’s artworks collection in a Gephi graph.

Three days ago I tried with Neo4j Gephi plugin, but since I’m working with Neo4j 2.0, I got an error. I tried to understand how much could cost to me to upgrade the plugin. So I started looking at the code… mmm too ambitious to me: I’d absolutely need some help from the plugin’s authors.

Fortunately, this tweet (and Michael Hunger) came to rescue me:

tweet_neo4j_shell_tool

… and I realized I was able to start working on this task!

I. Download, install and configure GEPHI on my MAC OS X 10.7.5

It seemed I’d have to do the same usual automatic installation, but not: some other configuration was needed.

First, simple part:

Go to Gephi site and click on “dowload FREE Gephi 0.8.2-beta“.

It’s a 42 MB .dmg file that contains the Gephi application. The installation is therefore simple: just drag the .app file into the Applications folder on your Mac and you’re done. Or so I thought“.

Second, slightly more complicated part:

Or just a joke if you use this post: http://www.konstantingreger.net/running-gephi-0-8-2-beta-on-macos-x-10-8-5-mountain-lion/

Current version of Gephi needs JDK 1.6… and some more energy!

1. If you have a JDK 1.7 installed, all you have to do is to uncomment jdkhome property and set the path to your v.1.6 home.

Show Gephi.app package content and go to Resources/gephi/etc and edit gephi.conf.

In my case I changed:

#jdkhome=";/path/to/jdk"

to:

jdkhome=/System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home/

2. Add some more energy.

in my case I changed:

default_options="--branding gephi -J-Xms64m -J-Xmx512m -J-Xverify:none -J-Dsun.java2d.noddraw=true -J-Dsun.awt.noerasebackground=true -J-Dnetbeans.indexing.noFileRefresh=true -J-

to:

default_options="--branding gephi -J-Xms2048m -J-Xmx4096m -J-Xverify:none -J-Dsun.java2d.noddraw=true -J-Dsun.awt.noerasebackground=true -J-Dnetbeans.indexing.noFileRefresh=true -J-

II. Download neo4j-shell-tools by Mr. @mesirii

With Gephi.app installed and correctly configured, now I can download neo4j-shell-tools (please pay attention: this link is to version 2.0) and add some jars to neo4j lib directory:

1. Download this neo4j-shell-tools-2.0.zip and follow very clear instructions posted on github readme.md file:

unzip neo4j-shell-tools-2.0.zip -d /path/to/neo4j-community-2.0.0-M05/lib

4 jars will be added:

geoff-0.5.0.jar
mapdb-0.9.3.jar
opencsv-2.3.jar
import-tools-2.0-SNAPSHOT.jar

3. Now we can start Neo4j 2.0 Server and export data (excuse me @mesirii, I’m cutting and pasting readme.md):

cd /path/to/neo4j-community-2.0.0-M05
./bin/neo4j restart
./bin/neo4j-shell

4. Finally run export command:

export-graphml [-o out.graphml] [-t]

Please note, it was mandatory to me using -t option: that’s the way how Gephi can see my properties (will be right??? I’m an absolute beginner of all these things…)

Now I can finally share my neo4art.graphml.

III. Load data into Gephi and have fun!

Open Gephi app and load neo4art.graphml:

Wow! Gephi is seeing my nodes, relationships and properties with all their attributes! 🙂

IV. Neo4Art Graph DB into Gephi

Et voilà: FULL VAN GOGH’S ARTWORK COLLECTION INTO A GEPHI GRAPH!

In yellow of course: Van Gogh’s favourite colour!

Or if you prefer a richer version with my wife saying “Ciao” exactly while I was taking the snapshot, ah ah ah 🙂

 

One thought on “How to load Neo4Art Graph DB into Gephi

  1. Pingback: Analisando dados com Neo4J | Teresa Fernandes

Leave a Reply

